General Information


The 39th EALE conference will be held in Carcavelos, Lisbon (Portugal) on September 15-16, 2022, at Nova School of Business and Economics (Carcavelos) and Nova School of Law (Lisbon).

Conference Venue:

The conference is organized by Nova School of Business and Economics (Nova SBE) and NOVA School of Law. We hope the Conference will take place physically on September 15th and 16th at Nova SBE, Nova School of Business and Economics, Carcavelos Campus, Rua da Holanda 1, Carcavelos, Portugal and NOVA School of Law, Campus de Campolide 18, Lisbon, Portugal.

Due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 situation and ensuing travel restrictions, the final arrangements for the Conference (in Portugal or online) will be confirmed based on the health and travel developments at a later time closer to the dates of the Conference, but with sufficient time to make or to cancel travel and accommodation arrangements.

The call for papers is NOW CLOSED

The registration system is NOW OPEN


Important dates:
  • Paper submission deadline: April 4, 2022 (EXTENDED TO April 11th)
  • Communication of acceptance: May 30, 2022 (expected)
  • Final papers due by: July 30, 2022
  • Authors’ registration deadline: June 23, 2022
  • Final registration deadline for participants who do not present a paper: August 15, 2022
  • Conference dates: September 15-16, 2022.


EALE 2022 Organizing Committee:
  • Leonor Rossi, NovaSBE, School of Business and Economics (President)
  • Catarina Grosso, NovaSBE, School of Business and Economics
  • Catarina Amaral, NovaSBE, School of Business and Economics
  • Pedro Lucena, NovaSBE, School of Business and Economics
  • Carla Cintra, Nova School of Law
  • Isabel Caetano Antunes ,Nova School of Law

Scientific Committee
  • Nuno Garoupa, Chair – Antonin Scalia Law School (George Mason University) and Católica Global School of Law
  • Claudine Desrieux – Centre de Recherche en Economie et Droit (Université Panthéon-Assas)
  • Tim Friehe – Public Economics Group (University of Marburg)
  • Adi Leibovitch – Faculty of Law and the Federmann Center for the Study of Rationality (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
  • Fabrizio Esposito, Secretary – NOVA School of Law (Universidade NOVA de Lisboa)